Friday, March 15, 2013

Hollywood to writing novels- the evolution of my writing with John Lansing- and a Kindle Giveaway


There may not be vampires or paranormal activity in, “The Devil’s Necktie,” but I think there’s enough sex, drugs and murder to keep things interesting.

I didn’t grow up dreaming about being a writer. It wasn’t even on my short list. But now in hindsight I do think writing books was a natural evolution from my time spent working in Hollywood. 

My acting career helped inform the characters I wrote for, and about, and created, in my television work. The craft of acting helped me understand the emotional roadmap needed to flesh out complex characters, characters that will hopefully be compelling enough to maintain a reader’s interest. 

My television work taught me discipline, writing on a schedule, collaboration, and it really hammered home the type of characters I enjoyed and wanted to invest my time with, characters that were interesting enough for me to spend a year of my life with, and again, hopefully keep an audience reading. Only you can tell me if I’ve succeeded at that and I look forward to hearing from you.

The most difficult part of my transition from television to novels was the writing itself. I had a wonderful partner, Bruce Cervi, who I co-wrote all of my television and film projects with, but now I was on my own. Just me, my computer, and my twenty-four pound poodle named Lucky.

The joy of writing my first novel was not having to adhere to a formula created by a television Pilot episode. I had total freedom to explore the psychology and behavior of not only my primary characters, but also my secondary tier. And I didn’t have to worry about satisfying a star’s ego or writing to commercial breaks.

I’ve always been drawn to flawed characters that were interested in reinventing themselves, who wanted a new life. Maybe because I’ve had such a varied career myself. I grew up in middle class suburbia. People worked for the same corporation or company, had the same vocation for their entire lives. Well that doesn’t fly anymore. We can all look forward to experiencing three or four different careers in our lifetime. 

I wanted to write about a detective who was on the verge of change, who was recovering from a nasty divorce, retiring from the NYPD, leaving Staten Island, and starting over. The old Yiddish proverb pretty much nails it. “Men make plans, God laughs.” My protagonist, Jack Bertolino, chose to do all of those things; it just didn’t quite work out the way he planned. Twenty-five years of taking down drug dealers, money launderers and killers came back to bite him in the ass, and shook up his newfound sense of bliss in Marina del Rey, California. That was enough of a hook for me to write “The Devil’s Necktie.”





March 15 Tour Intro/Guest blog
Fang-tastic Books

March 15 Spotlight/Excerpt
Mila Ramos

March 16 Interview
Pembroke Sinclair.  

March 17 Spotlight
Lavender & Camomile Press

March 18 Interview
Laurie's Non-Paranormal Thoughts and Reviews  

March 18 Spotlight
Noelle Blakely
Share My Destiny

March 20 Guest blog
Jill Archer

March 21 Interview
Books, Books the Magical Fruit

March 22 Spotlight
Pure Textuality

March 23 Guest blog
The Creatively Green Write at Home Mom

March 24 Spotlight
Roxanne’s Realm

March 26 Spotlight
Sapphyria's Book Reviews

March 27 Guest blog

March 30 review
Bookworm Babblings – 

April 1 Guest blog

April 2 Guest blog
Butterfly-o-Meter Books

April 4 Guest blog
Mama Knows Books 

April 9 Spotlight
Frankie Blooding's Bookshelf

April 10 Spotlight
Paranormal book club

April 11 Review
All Fantasy Worlds

April 12 Interview
Cloey's Book Reviews and Other Stuff

April 15 Feature
Bewitching Book Tours Magazine


The Devil’s Necktie
John Lansing

Genre: Crime/Thriller

Publisher: Gallery Books, Simon&Schuster/Karen Hunter Publishing

ISBN: 10:1451698348
ASIN: BOO7Z40FOY

Number of pages: 384
Word Count: 89,520

                            
Book Description:

A Sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell. An exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered – and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Columbian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover…either way, the body count will rise.

Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkyDF7KNdJ8


About the Author :

John Lansing started his career as an actor in New York City. He spent a year at the Royale Theatre playing the lead in the Broadway production of “Grease.”

He then landed a co-starring role in George Lucas’ “More American Graffiti,” and guest-starred on numerous television shows.

During his fifteen-year writing career, Lansing wrote and produced “Walker Texas Ranger,” co-wrote two CBS Movies of the Week, and he also co-executive produced the ABC series “Scoundrels.” John’s first book was “Good Cop, Bad Money,” a true crime tome with former NYPD Inspector Glen Morisano.

The Devil’s Necktie is his first novel.

A native of Long Island, John now resides in Los Angeles.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

Anne said...

I was wondering which of John's careers he enjoyed(s) the most: acting, tv writing or book writing and why?

John Lansing said...

Thanks for asking Anne,
I love to write books. Now don't get me wrong, it was very exciting doing the lead in a Broadway play. But when I was acting, I was interpreting someone else's work.
When I am sitting at my computer writing, I am creating the world. It's a beautiful thing.
All the best,
John

John Lansing said...

I want to thank Roxanne Rhoads for hosting the first stop on my virtual tour. Greatly appreciated Roxanne.
Best, John

bn100 said...

The book sounds intriguing

 
BLOG DESIGN FOR FANG-TASTIC BOOKS BY BARBARA.
RED CORSET © HALAQUINN ARCADIAS. GOTHIC NIGHT © ASHEN SHARROW.