Thursday, September 19, 2013

Interview and Giveaway with Victoria Danann Author of Gathering Storm The Order of the Black Swan Book Five

 What inspired you to write this book?

The saga is based on the idea of multiple realities existing within the same physical space, but unknown to each other because of variants in vibration. This is an idea that is becoming more science and less science fiction all the time. The premise of the saga is that there are multiple versions of ourselves existing simultaneously in these other dimensions that are similar but not identical to our own, alternate, not parallel.

I was toying with the idea of being psychically connected to these other versions of ourselves in dreams. I have dreams in which I find myself in an unknown environment, interacting with people I have never seen, yet the dream has the distinct quality of feeling real. I began to wonder if I’m experiencing a glimpse of the lives of some of the other versions of me.

Please tell us about your latest release.

Gathering Storm is the fifth installment in The Order of the Black Swan serial saga. Because it’s part of an ongoing story (that doesn’t mean cliffhangers – hate them), reading in order is highly recommended.

Can you tell readers a little bit about the world building in the book/series? How does this world differ from our normal world?

The Order of the Black Swan is a serial saga about a young woman who was forced into an experimental device that carried her, against her will, to another dimension similar, but not identical, to her own. She adopts, and is adopted by, a new familial network employed directly or indirectly by an ancient secret society of vampire hunters and paranormal investigators. Her new family includes modern day knights, elves, vampires, werewolves, demons, angels, witches and psychics.

With the book being part of a series, are there any character or story arcs, that readers jumping in somewhere other than the first book, need to be aware of? Can these books be read as stand alones?

The Order of the Black Swan is a serial saga presented in installments. That doesn’t mean cliffhangers (hate them). It means that the story is ongoing. Therefore, only the first book is a stand-alone. After that, you would be cheating yourself out of the full experience if you didn’t read in order.

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? How do you deal with it?

KNOCK ON WOOD, I never have.  

Do you write in different genres?  

Not yet.

When did you consider yourself a writer?

At eight I was writing little Bobbsey Twins novels. They’d be called fan fiction today.

Other than writing, what are some of your interests, hobbies or passions in life?
Classic Rock music – listening and playing, bridge, movies, travel.

What was the last amazing book you read?

Books are often “amazing” because something within appealed found the reader at just the right juncture in life to strike a chord. For whatever bizarre reason I loved Motorcycle Man by Kristen Ashley. I say “bizarre” because the title character is the last person I would want to end up with outside fantasy.

What can readers expect next from you?

            Book #6, A Tale of Two Kingdoms, will release on December 8th and is THE one many of the Black Swan readers have been begging for. The fae and elves of Loti Dimension have been at war for two thousand years even though the current environment is more “cold” war. The Lady Laiken, as an outsider, has undertaken a search for answers as to what started it all. The saga returns to pure romance as we follow the quest of fated lovers, progeny of the two royal houses, for a happy ever after.

Where can readers find you on the web?

TWITTER: @vdanann

Gathering Storm
The Order of the Black Swan
Book Five
Victoria Danann
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: 7th House       

ISBN: 978-1-933320-93-9

Number of pages: 320
Word Count: 85k

Cover Artist: Victoria Danann

Book Description:

The fifth installment in the Black Swan serial saga. READING IN ORDER STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. That’s why we have a try-before-you-buy-program. The first book in the saga, My Familiar Stranger, is PermaFREE everywhere.

THE NEWSLETTER: Z Team, a.k.a Zed Company, is transferred to Jefferson Unit, which is being temporarily retired as an active hunter facility and converted to a research / training institution. Sol takes his first vacation – ever – leaving Glen in charge with Storm supervising. Rosie is proving to be an extraordinary little girl and Deliverance is in BIG trouble with her mother.

THE SURPRISES: Storm is really not himself. Former members of B Team must reunite to preserve his image and reputation.  No one could have prepared for the surprises Rosie delivers.

THE ADVENTURE: The Ralengclan send a second wave assassination team to Jefferson Unit at the worst possible time, when it’s been left defended by only Z Team, Glen, the Lady Laiken and the trainees.

About the Author:

If you're looking for something new and different in PNR, you've come to the right place.

I write unapologetic romances with uniquely fresh perspectives on paranormal creatures, characters, and themes. Add a dash of scifi and a flourish of fantasy to enough humor to make you laugh out loud and enough steam to make you squirm in your chair. My heroines are independent femmes with flaws and minds of their own whether they are aliens, witches, demonologists, psychics, or past life therapists. My heroes are hot and hunky, but they also have brains, character, and good manners - usually - whether they be elves, demons, berserkers, werewolves, or vampires.

My first book, My Familiar Stranger, was nominated for Best Paranormal Romance of 2012 by the Reviewers' Choice  and Readers’ Choice Awards. Each of my books has remained on the Amazon best seller list in category every day since release. All four also earned the Night Owl Reviews TOP PICK award and have remained on the Amazon Best Sellers list every day since release.

My work has been compared to J R Ward, Karen Marie Moning, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Lara Adrian. For example:

"I do see shades of Lara Adrian's Breed books and shades of J R Wards Black Dagger books, but this story is unique enough that it stands out all on its own and can stand up along side those other books and I think given time will elbow them out of the way with the rich story telling and deep emotional core that makes you want to know more." - Kerry, Musings of a Bookworm

The Order of the Black Swan is a series that is also a serial saga. Each book is an episodic installment in an ongoing story. Join me for the adventure.

TWITTER: @vdanann
a Rafflecopter giveaway

September 19 Interview
Paranormal Romance Fans for Life

September 20 Interview
Quill or Pill

September 23 Interview
Dalene’s Book Reviews

September 24 Interview
The Seraphine Muse

September 25 Interview
Romance Book Junkies

September 26 Interview
Diane's Book Blog

September 27 Interview 
The Simple Things in Life

September 30 Interview 

October 1 Interview 
Eclipse Reviews

October 2 Interview
Roxanne’s Realm

October 3 Interview
Butterfly-o-Meter Books

October 4 Interview
The Creatively Green Write at Home Mom

October 7 Interview
All I Want and More – 

October 9 Interview
Books &Tales:

October 10 Interview
Romance with Flavor

October 16th - Interview
Bitten By Love Reviews

October 17 Interview
Pembroke Sinclair.  

No comments: